How many belts are there?

Unlike most sports, there is no single governing body which decides the rules of boxing. Instead there are four governing bodies (IBF, WBA, WBO and WBC) and they all have their own belts respectively.

So arguably there are 4 MAIN world title belts per weight divion.

  • The World Boxing Association (WBA)
  • The World Boxing Council (WBC)
  • The International Boxing Federation (IBF)
  • The World Boxing Organization (WBO)

There are other belts released by smaller organisations and of course regional titles. But most boxing fans look for the four belts stated above when considering respected world title belts.